Windows Works Task Launcher

Experienced computer users will try to help you out

Moderators: Peanut, Gerrit

User avatar
GeneSC
Posts: 1675
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 6:07 am

Re: Windows Task Launcher

Post by GeneSC » Fri Apr 27, 2018 9:38 pm

Thank you Gerrit. but I don't think either one of us have the knowledge, patience, ability, or inclination to pursue this any longer. I found a program to print address labels. I have used this for years, (not this particular program), but I've tried it and it looks good.
https://www.avery.com/software/design-and-print/desktop I have "Microsoft Works" on my computer, Is there any way to get the Install file sent to her computer??
Windows 7 Home Premium
version 2009
Service pack 1
Intel (R) core (TM) 2 duo CPU
E4400@ 2.00 GHz
4.00GB of Ram 16bit OS

User avatar
Gerrit
Posts: 11372
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 9:37 pm

Re: Windows Task Launcher

Post by Gerrit » Fri Apr 27, 2018 10:43 pm

GeneSC wrote:I have "Microsoft Works" on my computer, Is there any way to get the Install file sent to her computer??
If you have the install CD, yes. If not it won't work.
As far as I understand Works can only made to work on Windows 10 if you have a 64 bit version, so that's what you would need..
HP Z220CMT workstation
Core i-7 3770 @ 3.40 GHz
16 GB RAM - 2x2 1TB RAID1 HD
Linux Mint 19.1 "Tessa" &
Windows 7 Professional &
Windows 10 Professional

User avatar
GeneSC
Posts: 1675
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 6:07 am

Re: Windows Task Launcher

Post by GeneSC » Sat Apr 28, 2018 10:35 am

How can i find if i have a 64 bit system? because it installed on mine.
And I have the disk.
Windows 7 Home Premium
version 2009
Service pack 1
Intel (R) core (TM) 2 duo CPU
E4400@ 2.00 GHz
4.00GB of Ram 16bit OS

User avatar
Gerrit
Posts: 11372
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 9:37 pm

Re: Windows Task Launcher

Post by Gerrit » Sat Apr 28, 2018 3:25 pm

In Windows 7 Go to Control panel, system & security - system
Under System type it tells you 32 or 64 bit

In Windows 10 go to settings (type it in the search field if you don't see it in the menu) - System - About

I don't know if Works requires a product key but if it does you may try to use the key that came with the Works version that Glynes bought. Using your key may cause problems (and is illegal)

Good luck!
HP Z220CMT workstation
Core i-7 3770 @ 3.40 GHz
16 GB RAM - 2x2 1TB RAID1 HD
Linux Mint 19.1 "Tessa" &
Windows 7 Professional &
Windows 10 Professional

User avatar
GeneSC
Posts: 1675
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 6:07 am

Re: Windows Task Launcher

Post by GeneSC » Sat Apr 28, 2018 4:17 pm

Yeah, mine is 64 bit so my disk probably won't work on Glynes's computer.
Windows 7 Home Premium
version 2009
Service pack 1
Intel (R) core (TM) 2 duo CPU
E4400@ 2.00 GHz
4.00GB of Ram 16bit OS

User avatar
Gerrit
Posts: 11372
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 9:37 pm

Re: Windows Task Launcher

Post by Gerrit » Sat Apr 28, 2018 4:20 pm

FWIW, in a dusty corner of one of my servers I found the original MS installation files of MS Works 9.0. This must be a relic from the time I was a (paying) member of Microsoft TechNet.

I installed it on a Windows 7 (pro) box and a Windows 10 (pro) laptop without any problems. The programs are working just fine as far as I can see.
HP Z220CMT workstation
Core i-7 3770 @ 3.40 GHz
16 GB RAM - 2x2 1TB RAID1 HD
Linux Mint 19.1 "Tessa" &
Windows 7 Professional &
Windows 10 Professional

User avatar
Gerrit
Posts: 11372
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 9:37 pm

Re: Windows Task Launcher

Post by Gerrit » Sat Apr 28, 2018 4:26 pm

GeneSC wrote:Yeah, mine is 64 bit so my disk probably won't work on Glynes's computer.
If it is Works version 9.0 it should work as far as I understand. Lower version numbers, like Glynes' 8.5 will not work on Windows 10..
HP Z220CMT workstation
Core i-7 3770 @ 3.40 GHz
16 GB RAM - 2x2 1TB RAID1 HD
Linux Mint 19.1 "Tessa" &
Windows 7 Professional &
Windows 10 Professional

User avatar
GeneSC
Posts: 1675
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 6:07 am

Re: Windows Task Launcher

Post by GeneSC » Sat Apr 28, 2018 4:47 pm

Mine doesn't say what version it is but it does have a product key It is several years old but it installed on my computer with no problems. And I don't use it very much, and I do as you suggested earlier, I make a few pages of address labels and just stick them on.
Windows 7 Home Premium
version 2009
Service pack 1
Intel (R) core (TM) 2 duo CPU
E4400@ 2.00 GHz
4.00GB of Ram 16bit OS

User avatar
Gerrit
Posts: 11372
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 9:37 pm

Re: Windows Task Launcher

Post by Gerrit » Sat Apr 28, 2018 4:52 pm

Check in the program, Help in the menu or the question mark button. Choose About and it tells you the version.
The "latest" version is 9, the one that works on Windows 10. It was released in 2007..
Are you on Windows 10 ? (I don't remember)
HP Z220CMT workstation
Core i-7 3770 @ 3.40 GHz
16 GB RAM - 2x2 1TB RAID1 HD
Linux Mint 19.1 "Tessa" &
Windows 7 Professional &
Windows 10 Professional

User avatar
GeneSC
Posts: 1675
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 6:07 am

Re: Windows Task Launcher

Post by GeneSC » Sat Apr 28, 2018 5:47 pm

Yes windows 10.
Windows 7 Home Premium
version 2009
Service pack 1
Intel (R) core (TM) 2 duo CPU
E4400@ 2.00 GHz
4.00GB of Ram 16bit OS

User avatar
GeneSC
Posts: 1675
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 6:07 am

Re: Windows Task Launcher

Post by GeneSC » Sat Apr 28, 2018 6:07 pm

WOW!! I must have a REALLY old version! (6.0) I have NO idea how it installed on my Win. 10??
Windows 7 Home Premium
version 2009
Service pack 1
Intel (R) core (TM) 2 duo CPU
E4400@ 2.00 GHz
4.00GB of Ram 16bit OS

User avatar
Gerrit
Posts: 11372
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 9:37 pm

Re: Windows Task Launcher

Post by Gerrit » Sat Apr 28, 2018 6:24 pm

GeneSC wrote:WOW!! I must have a REALLY old version! (6.0) I have NO idea how it installed on my Win. 10??
Maybe it got transferred when you did the upgrade to 10?
Anyway, I don't think your CD will get Works installed on Glynes' computer...
HP Z220CMT workstation
Core i-7 3770 @ 3.40 GHz
16 GB RAM - 2x2 1TB RAID1 HD
Linux Mint 19.1 "Tessa" &
Windows 7 Professional &
Windows 10 Professional

Post Reply